Exercise

Releasing Your Inner Athlete

This might possibly be a rambling post but stick with me. I’ll get there.

I love the bogging world. Especially the fitness bloggers. I don’t have anyone close to me (in any sense of the word) that is really into working out, fitness, etc. so I get my inspiration from the blogging world. It can be hard getting your inspiration that way because there is really no one around to encourage, pat you on the back, stretch you to reach your goals. And trust me, I’m one of those people who really needs to hear things. I can’t always self motivate.

But sometimes I read something from a blogger or two or three and it really forces me to release my inner athlete. To give up the tv and spend two hours working out (like tonight) just because I love it. I love sweating, I love lifting heavy things, I love going for a goal. And this time I’m going to reach it. It might take me months or it might take me years but I’m tired of putting on the breaks when I’m almost there. What am I afraid of? There are no losers in life. Just people who don’t try.

I can do what I set my mind to.

victorious

I. AM. AN. ATHLETE.

But there is something you need to know.

If you google the definition of athlete it says A person who is proficient in sports and other forms of physical exercise.

It doesn’t say you have to be a gold medalist. It doesn’t say that you are famous. You don’t have to own certain clothes or shoes. You don’t have to train in a certain place, in a certain way. Or be a specific weight or height.

Tonight when I came home, I ran, lifted weights, and did some pilates. Because I am an athlete.

What makes you want to release your inner athlete?

Leave a Reply

